In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

Since globalization started to have beneficial impact on the developments of countries’ economy all over the world, job market have become more competitive and more challenging. That has made the majority of parents worried about how much chance their children will have to get a good job in the future. So, in some European countries, most of the children aged 11 and 13 are advised to take part in vocational courses for being employed easily. However, other children are supported in pursing higher education. In this way, both above-mentioned attitudes will be discussed clearly together with solutions that schools should take.

There is no denying that helping children make decision about pursing vocational training courses at the age of 11 or 13 can improve the quality of education effectively. The reason for this statement is that at those ages, some students have a tendency to find academic courses increasingly dreary. Instead, taking part in practical activities bring them vividly exciting experiences and thus, to a certain extent, they can fulfill occupational tasks better than studying highly theoretical knowledge. More than that, they can study useful skills from practice.

On the other hand, other children may have strong interest in building a solid foundation of academic knowledge for pursing higher education. In particular, some students own the special ability of understanding highly specialized and theoretical knowledge. That always make them more inquisitive about new academic theories. Actually, that kind of students can be employed as a key force of research and development centers where they can satisfy the interest in researching and broadening their horizons.

To ensure both types of students to be well-educated, the authorities of schools should plan efficient strategies for their comprehensive development. Firstly, when children come to a proper age, they need to be asked about their future desire. Then, teachers should create an appropriate environment like vocational guiding extracurricular activities for those with interest in learning practical skills and small-scale research projects for those with desire for broadening academic knowledge. In addition, they should have high responsibility for reducing the burden of high marks and achievements on children of those ages. Owing to that solution, students must not feel being isolated from their school environment.

To sum up, the mission of educating efficiently children at the age of 11 or 13 has never been simple. To gain the best results, schools themselves must put their thoughts into heading their students towards a bright future in job market instead of evaluating them through meaningless marks as the traditional way.