In some countries, a high proportion of criminal acts are committed by teenagers. What effects does this cause? What can be done to deal with this?

Today, youth crime is rife. Theft, burglary or even murder are now committed by people of younger and younger ages. The aim of this essay is to investigate the consequences of the increase in juvenile delinquency and put forward a number of ways to appropriately punish young offenders.

To begin with, several severe impacts on those children’s families are inevitable if this trend is still going on. From the perspective of the juvenile, their perceptive development will be disrupted that they will become selfish and insensitive. In their mind, it is all about violence and crimes, which makes them neither realize nor care that their actions are hurting so many people, including their own family. In terms of the parents, their child’s committing crimes seems to be their worst nightmare. They are the ones who have to directly face the law enforcement, and they are so ashamed with the fact their child is a criminal that they cannot bear everyone’s look given to them.

Nevertheless, various measures can be taken to mitigate this problem. First, imprisonment is often cited as a way to punish juvenile offenders. However, it often seems that this approach can produce extremely destructive effects that the youth can potentially be victims of physical or sexual abuse from older prisoners, as well as can adopt their undoing. What is a better cure for young criminals is rehabilitation. In other words, throughout education and training, the youth can realize their wrongful actions and be given opportunities to turn over a new leaf and transform themselves into useful members of society later in life.

In brief, several actions can be taken to eradicate the problems that are certain to arise as youngsters are committing to criminal activities. If people in our community take actions, there will be a brighter future for the world’s security.