In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Recent decades have witnessed a tremendous decrease in people’s wellbeing. While it can not be denied that excessive consumption of junk food is the main reason, I would hold that raising people’s awareness is far more significant for social health than taxes on this food.

To begin with, “take away” culture is not the only cause for most diseases and mental ailments that people are facing. These mainly result from a fast-living pace, which derives their leisure time from cooking and enjoying their traditional meals. Furthermore, countless low-income people can not afford organic food, so greasy foods inevitably become their daily consumption. Paradoxically, even the rich also experience mental illnesses and obesity due to over-consumption of healthy and organic food as well as a stressful job.

Although taxes on unhealthy food may help to tackle this problem, it is not the only way for the government to improve its citizen’s health. Educating people to realize how sedentary life gradually spoils their physical and mental energy is crucial. For instance, healthy-fast food, such as vegetarian meals and juices, should be promoted for breakfast instead of hamburgers and coffee. Healthy programs, like home workout and healing yoga exercises, should also be broadcasted on the mass media more frequently. As long as people can be aware of their mind and body, junk-food demand will automatically decrease.

In my perspective, the world has become a “slightly less lovely” place regarding the negative influence of tasty-take-away food. While imposing taxes on them may be beneficial to reduce its consumption, nonetheless, I believe a deep understanding of mind and body will give people insight to achieve optimal health and wellbeing.