One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent decades have witnessed tremendous achievement in medical treatment. While it is believed that the advancement of health care offers a noticeable contribution to the lifespan of human beings, I would hold that this would bring more harm than good.

To begin with, medicine and advanced remedies help people to recover from fatal diseases rapidly. For example, antibacterial medicine has pushed back countless contagious epidemic and pandemic such as chickenpox and HIV. Nevertheless, mother nature will inevitably produce more lethal viruses with stronger immunities adapting to medicine because people are going against natural law. As can be seen recently, the globe continues to experience a new contagious pandemic outbreak - CoviD 19, which has killed thousands of people from all over the world. Therefore, medication is not always equal to health care and in harmony with nature.

Furthermore, longevity gives people more time to enjoy life as well as to devote their labor to society for a longer time. For instance, the age of retirement is gradually increasing each year. On the other hand, living longer does not mean having good health and wellbeing. The elders have suffered endless chronic pains which result from medicines forcing their body to endure the deterioration of aging. This obviously hurts the society to a certain extent.

In my perspective, if health care services only pay attention to the life expectancy of individuals and go against sickness, instead of helping people to achieve optimal health, human beings may continue to witness more mental and physical suffering.