In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there has been a rapid increase in the risk of health problems associated with those consuming junk food, which causes the Government to implement a much higher levy on this kind of food. To my knowledge, it is for that this policy should be proposed strictly on its consumers and production companies.

Firstly, the rising price of convenience food will lead people not to be able to afford it. Fast food is known as a low priced quick served dish in a few minutes, which people are capable of buying them directly on their way to work or schooling. That noticeably contributes to the consumption rise of this kind of food in some countries. According to that fact, the Government’s setting an increasing tax policy on junk food will cause people to have a financial burden on the affordability to fast food, which gradually declines their expenditure. For example, after having been imposed an increasingly higher rate of tax, the amount of consumption of cigarettes and drugs in some developed countries, such as the US, significantly dropped.

Secondly, fast food companies have to hold responsible for what they are producing and bringing on the market. Nowadays, it is the case that some businesses have just been chasing profit without being aware of customers’ hygiene safety. They imported and used the expired and unfresh ingredients to make dishes, and almost all junk food is deep-fried or availably prepared, hardly people could know how its actual quality is. As a result, more and more policies and laws have recently been proposed to protect consumers’ health, and force all convenience food companies to take the responsibilities for making healthy food or an amount of money will be paid.

In conclusion, fast food should be taxed at a greater rate because the higher the price rises, the less consumption the citizens have. Also, the higher tax will force food companies to generate products with healthy fresh ingredients for consumers.