In recent years, it is widely observed that public health in numerous countries has been negatively affected by the increasing amount of fast food consumed. Thus, it is argued that to tackle the issue, it is best for this kind of food to be taxed more by the authorities. I am inclined to disagree with this point of view for several reasons, which will be discussed thoroughly.

On the one hand, some people believe that the most effective solution to reduce health risks related to junk food would be imposing a higher tax on it. This is because the more this kind of food is taxed, the higher its price could be, and as a result, the public is less likely to pay for such expensive products and may switch to more nutritious ones including fruits and vegetables. Hence, a lower amount of lipid is absorbed, which would keep people away from health problems caused by fast food. Nevertheless, fast food might be usually consumed more among the rich, so higher prices are no problem for them. Consequently, health risks resulting from it is still a concern among this group of people.

In my view, a far more feasible approach to this problem is to encourage the public to exercise regularly. To do this, the governments should foremost provide adequate infrastructures such as the gym, swimming pools and sports centres for the residents to use. This might be proved to be a better solution as most people who consume an excessive amount of fast food are most likely to suffer from obesity due to the amount of lipid it consists of. As they exercise more, the lipid could be considerably degraded, leading to lower health risks concerning fast food.

To sum up, although it is undeniable that imposing a higher tax on fast food could bring about some benefits, I suppose that encouraging people to go out and exercise more frequently would be a better solution to the health problems caused by this kind of food. This would be even more possible to conduct if parents set good examples for their children when it comes to exercising.