Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs To what extent do you agree

In recent years, custom adapting has been an increasingly controversial issue in many countries. It is argued that when visiting a foreign nation, tourists should change their ways of behaviour according to the place they are visiting. I am inclined to disagree with this opinion for several reasons, which will be presented at length in this essay.

On the one hand, people who advocate adapting to local culture often for two main reasons. First and foremost, by implementing this, visitors could have more practical experience in various local lifestyles. As a result, they would broaden their knowledge about the diversity of cultures worldwide. Another possible reason is that because of this practice, tourists may get less negatively noticed by the locals due to their strange activities. This hence might help them to avoid numerous uncomfortable situations when traveling abroad.

On the other hand, I believe that being even when going to another country, people should maintain their natural selves. It can be seen that it is not always easy for everyone to get into another culture. Thus, when a tourist tries to imitate the locals’ lifestyle, if not knowing it thoroughly, he might be involved in even more severe circumstances due to misunderstands by the residents there. Another barrier to this is that attempting too many customs of several destinations would result in several mental problems which may occur to tourists. For instance, they could have difficulties with cultural disorders or might even lose or forget their original national identity.

To conclude, although it might be interesting for visitors to try different local practices when traveling internationally, from my point of view, the drawbacks of this development might slightly outweigh its benefits. Although It is indeed good for people to learn and experience cultural diversity; nevertheless, everyone should deliberate well before acculturating themselves to any local customs or practices.