Some People Think That When A Person Travels Into A Different Culture They Should Adapt To The Local Practices And Customs.To What Extent Do You Agree?

A few people are of the opinion that one must adapt to the local traditions and practices when one travels into a different culture. I strongly advocate the above idea of adapting to the local traditions for a few reasons.

Firstly, it is of utmost importance to blend in the crowd to understand the traditions of the localities. There's an old proverb which says, 'When in Rome, be a Roman" which means that one must indulge oneself in the practices of the area of their travel. Traveling is not only for sight-seeing but also for understanding the cultures and traditions of the localities. For instance, I had traveled to Hyderabad to meet my sister in the year 2018. During my stay in Hyderabad, I came across this unique traditional festival called "Batukamma". I was both confabulated and excited to know more about the festival. As a result of this, I took part in their traditional event and successfully learned the significance of this event. Hence, by embracing one's culture, one can educate oneself on the traditions which are unique to a particular location.

Secondly, when tourists embrace the local customs and traditions, it evokes a feeling of trust in local residents as a result of which they start treating the tourist as one of their own kind. This can be beneficial to the tourists as they often encounter scammers in a new land. This situation can be eradicated by having local residents as your travel guide. Tourists can also save a huge deal of money as the residents would help them with pocket-friendly restaurants or shopping complexes to shop at.

Hence, I feel that inculcating practices of the location of travel is essential as it has several benefits.