In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

The imposing of tax on the fast food can act as solution for major health problems created by these foods in many countries. In my opinion, I agree to the point of increasing the tax may act as solution to the problem but I also believe in creating awareness among people about fast foods will be alternative.

The insurgence of fast food has resulted in many problems in the countries. Firstly, the local businesses are facing the major cut down in income due to effect of these food joints. Youth are highly attracted to these foods which are creating the hinges in the local market and restaurants. Secondly, high content of carbohydrates, fatty acids and unnatural dyes are creating health hazards such as obesity, diabetics and cancer. Therefore there is increasing pressure on the health departments and government to find solution to this insurgence.

On the one hand, government imposing taxes on the fast food may act as major route towards decreasing the effects of these foods. The tax imposed on the food aid in increased consumer costs of foods which will deter the youngsters in buying them. The excise on these will also reduce the opening of many multinational restaurants such as KFC, Domino etc. On the other hand, increasing awareness among people about the ill effects the food in school, colleges and communities may act as alternative solution. Educating children and adults about these foods not only decrease the fame but also discourage people leaning towards these foods in their busy schedule. For instance, Parents discourage the children in buying and eating pizzas and burgers if they know the effects of such food on their health.

In conclusion, hazardous effects of the fast food in the country can be mitigated by integrative approach such as tax imposition, awareness programs, and cooperative efforts of both government and health departments.