In some countries, it is now possible for people to buy products made in other countries. To what extent do the benefits of this development outweigh the problems?

As communication and transportation technologies develop at an unprecedented pace, the economic links between major countries become more and more tight, and globalizaiton has become an inevitable trend. As a result, people have far more access to goods from all over the world than before. This would clearly bring more advantages than disadvantages.

First of all, the quality of ordinary people’s life would dramatically increase because of the abundant oversea products. In the old days, residents can only buy local food and clothes, and have a limited access to new things. But globalizaiton has brought many new brands and products into the local market. Thus, local residents could get in touch with advanced digital products, such as latest smart phones and smart sweeping robots, which would broaden their horizon and free them from repetitive housework. In addition, they can read enlightening foreign books full of creative and different thoughts, and communicate with foreign celebrities on social issues, philosophy and science in the books. The contact with new things would undoubtedly improve their living standard and somehow prompt the innovation of the whole society.

Another benefit would be the promotion of global economy. On the one hand, the imported products are made in other countries, most of which are developing ones like China. This would be benificial for the boosting of their economy and the establishment of basic industries. On the other hand, this way of production would remarkably cut the cost, so customers all around the world can spend less money on daily products.

However, the downside of importing goods may be the pollution. The worldwide transportation of products would produce a large amount of greenhouse gases, which may cause serious damages to the environment. Besides, it’s difficult for the government to balance development and environmental protection, so factories in most developing countries would probably pay more attention to efficient production rather than dealing waste water and gas. That’s the reason of water and soil erosion and many other environmental issues in these countries.

In conclusion, importing products does have positive impacts on the living standard of people and global economy, but how to balance development and environmental disruption remains a tricky problem for local government.