In some countries, it is possible for people to have a variety of food that has been transported from all over the world. To what extent do you think its benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

With the development of international trade, people in many parts of the world now have the opportunity to enjoy food of different origins. While there are some disadvantages to this trend, I personally believe the advantages are much more considerable.

On the one hand, the invasion of imported food might be a threat to traditional cuisine as it paves ways for giant food chains to spread worldwide. Since this type of restaurant is accessible as it has branches everywhere, it might hamper the business of other local restaurants with smaller scale. However, this is not always the case because traditional treats always have a soft spot in the heart of the residents. To illustrate, the famous fast food company, Mc Donald, when first entered Vietnam, had set a target of opening approximately 70 branches after 3 years. However, they failed miserably that until now, they still only have less than 10 restaurants across the country. This is because they could not compete with Vietnamese delicacies which are both cheap and delicious such as Banh My or Pho.

On the other hand, the availability of food from around the world is beneficial in many ways. One of the major advantages is that it plays a key role in maintaining the stability of the economy. As food can be easily exported and imported, governments can secure the food supply and prevent price volatility. For example, in the beginning of 2020, a widespread disease had led to the death of thousands of pigs in farms across Vietnam, causing a drastic increase in pork price. Fortunately, the government timely imported a large amount of pork from other foreign countries like Canada and successfully stabilized the price. Furthermore, a more diverse choice of food can enhance better understanding across cultures. One of the best ways to learn about a culture is through its culinary, therefore people who have opportunities to try delicacies from various parts of the world can gain a deeper insight about cultures other than theirs.

To sum up, although imported food might be harmful to local traditional restaurants as it helps global fast food chains to expand, it is undeniably advantageous since it contributes to the stability of the economy and different cultures' understanding.