Currently, in some nations, more and more individuals are increasingly living on their own. This essay agrees that living alone has negative effects on an individual's physical and mental well-being.

In general, it is always nice to have our loved ones, including parents, children, and spouse, around us because it gives us a chance to share every happiness and sorrow with them. Not only do they celebrate ones’ happiness, but they also inspire one to reach goals. At the same time, relatives reassure and encourage him in deep sorrows. Each of these little things leads to a healthy life. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University, in which they claimed that people who live alone are 85% more likely to develop cerebrovascular accidents in their 50s’ than those who live with the family.

In addition to physical health, having a family brings a myriad of psychological advantages. As everyone comes across ups and downs in life, it is vital to have a close relationship with the family to cope especially with the downturns of life. In other words, were people to live alone, they do not have enough psychological support, which prevents them from developing various mental disorders including depression. The annual newsletter of the College of Psychiatrists in Sri Lanka revealed that lonely people’s suicidal rate is 80% higher than people living in a family.

In conclusion, an increasingly higher number of people are opting for a lonely life in some parts of the world. This essay agrees that this is a negative tendency, whereby physical and mental health could deteriorate.