In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years it has become far more normal for people to live alone, particularly in large cities in the developed world. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measure.

The increase in the number of single-person households can be seen as positive from many perspectives. On an individual level, people who choose to live alone can enjoy the peace and quiet. For example, people don't have to worry if someone has the TV or music too loud, they just need to sit in their apartment and enjoy the peace and quiet. Second, since people have total control of their life and their apartment, they can live how they want whether it be hoarding everything, or being a neat people. Final, people will learn how to deal with life’s biggest problems by themselves. For example, living alone teaches them who they are after they leave everyone else, they will learn to be introspective and really listen to what they want and need. Soon, they will be able to trust their instincts better and develop a better sense of self-trust.

However, the issue can be considered from the opposite angle. Firstly, people who are easy to feel a little bored with their daily routine. For example, people who live alone feel bored most of the time and to overcome boring situation they need to spend most of their time with friends and family so that they can get rid of boredom in their life. Secondly, the most common disadvantage of living alone would be the feel being alone. Finally, when a person decides to stay alone and live alone, they might lose all the contacts with their family and friends. For instance, in midnight, when they fall ill, there will not anybody around to help them.

In conclusion, living alone has many advantages, but it also has disadvantages. It can get lonely and boring, but you will learn how to cope with that.