In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, the trend of being alone at the age of marriage is increasing. While this trend can be positive to some extent, I would argue that it is more negative.

The development of living alone can be seen as positive. First of all, people are more freedom in life than others. An adult, for example, will have the independence in finance and have fewer burdens when paying the daily cost. Hence, people who like the independent life have more time to take care of themselves and it can reduce health problems related to worry. Secondly, this trend can help to decrease the urgent problem is overpopulation as some couples want to give birth to triplets or more. Therefore, some causes from the growth of population such as unemployment, polluted air, and demand for housing... will be eliminated.

This style, however, can be a negative development in some cases. Most of the people feel lonely when lacking of conversations, sharing from members in family or people who stay with them. A serious consequence is appreciable acceleration to neuropathology like depression, autism... Next, the individuals are becoming to be remote from social because they are accustomed to living without the presence of others. This is the reason why people will meet the difficulty when making a date or making acquaintance.

In conclusion, while the development of choosing living alone has several positive impacts, I believe the drawbacks of this tendency are much greater.