In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These day, it seems that more people prefer to live independently than ever before in many parts of the world. Yet, there remains some disagreement as to whether the effects of living alone are positive or negative. I personally believe that the drawbacks of living alone far outweigh its benefits, which I will discuss in my further piece of writing.

To embark with, there are manifold detrimental effects of living alone. Firstly, living lonely creates loneliness and depression among people. The increasing trend of living alone has a direct relationship on the percentage of people suffer from psychological problems these days. This islolation often leads people to choose a lifestyle that is often negative. A recent study reveals that single-person family members often rely on drugs and many of them become addicted. Moreover, the human is a social being and living alone is against their natural tendency.

In addition to it, nowadays, the cost of living is higher than in the past so this trend can also cause the burden of household bills. For many bearing the total expenses is tough and this leads them to get involved in crimes. Also, people miss out the emotional support and friendly conversations which they can share while living together with their family and friends. In other words, these people run away from their family responsibilities which makes them an anti social animal.

On the flip side, there are some positive development to live alone. First is, people who choose to live alone completely have freedom to make decisions on how they live. They can decide how their house with their own style or can sleep whenever they want. Besides, living alone cause an improvement to their independent skills.

In conclusion, I believe that its demerits certainly eclipse its advantages. If a person wants to live an independent life, then he/she should understand their family duties.