In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development.

In some developed and developing countries, it has become far more common for people to live alone. I am personally of the idea that this trend could have both merits and drawbacks in equal measure.

The increase in the number of single-person households can be seen as positive from many perspectives. On an individual level, people who choose to live alone may become much more independent of others and self-confident than those who live with family members. A young man, for example, who lives on his own will need to acquire skills like learning how to cook, clean or systematically manage his budget to pay the bills, all of which are valuable life skills. In addition, a person living alone can have complete freedom of action. They can do whatever they want without the fear of being disturbed. This is especially vital for scientists who require privacy and any interuption can disastrously result in breaking up their whole working process.

However, the issue can be considered from the opposite angle. Initially, people who live alone can experience feelings of loneliness, isolation rather than independence. Truly, they have carry the burden of paying all the bills and taking care of every house chores. Moreover, they lack emotional support and useful advices which can only be provided by family. Finally, living alone can easily lead to depression which is likely to end up in suicidal attempt. For instance, a young adult who is deeply depressed due to some certain reasons can commit suicide without anyone stopping if that one lives alone.

In summary, the rise in one-person households can have both beneficial and detrimental effects on individuals. It is important to take this matter into consideration so that sensible solutions can be proposed.