Some people think that studying from the past teaches us nothing about today's life. Others argue that history is a valued source of information. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether historical knowledge brings relevant values to contemporary society or not. Though it is true that today’s world is much different from that of past eras, some facets of society and human nature remain constant, thus I propose there is great value in studying texts from long ago.

On the one hand, the world has changed too much for old wisdom to be of any use. For example, one of the most tangible reasons why history is not applicable to today's world is gender equality. For example, while women were just considered as housewives in the past, nowadays society provides women the opportunity to enjoy the same rights as men, including economic participation and decision-making. Another reason is people have no guarantee of the accuracy of the ancient documents. This mean, the events of our past are interpreted in different ways to suit different needs. Therefore, humankind might learn the wrong lessons.

On the other hand, some people argue that history is definitely an indispensable part of human civilization. In particular, history provides identity, and this is unquestionably one of the reasons all modern nations encourage its teaching in some form. Historical information includes evidence about how families, groups and the entire countries were formed and evolved over time. Vietnamese students, for instance, study history and learn about their victories against outside intruders, so they take pride in their origin. Furthermore, history offers a storehouse of data about how people and societies behave. As a result, people could have a thorough insight into the way individuals and groups tick. How can we evaluate war if the nation is at peace unless we use historical materials? How can we understand the influence of technological innovation or the role that the young generations play in our modern life? This fundamentally, is why we can not stay away from history.

In conclusion, while both perspectives have benefits and drawbacks in our ever-changing world, I would contend that the ancient knowledge will always have a crucial role in preparing for our future, and we should pay the history the respect it deserves.