In some countries, many more people are chossing to live alone nowadays than in the peast. Positive or negative development?

In recent decades, people, especially the young generation, tend to choose to live alone by isolating themselves from their families for several reasons. Although this tendency will bring various benefits, I believe this trend has more negative consequences than the few positive outcomes it offers.

On the one hand, the rise in one-person households can help people get into an independent lifestyle. The first reason is that people choosing to live alone may become more independent and self-reliant than those living with their relatives or friends. They earn their own living without the support of families; for instance, they need to learn how to deal with a work-life balance, cook, and manage their financial budget, which may be valuable life skills and help people be more mature. Furthermore, the trend toward living alone will create freedom and an inner pace of designing her own private life.

This may benefit people who can create their rules and make their decisions without being distracted by other people's opinions.

It seems to me that the trend of increasing single-person families has many drawbacks, such as mental health and economic arguments. Firstly, without support from families, people find it hard to share their stories and receive helpful advice that assists them in overcoming the financial crisis from their close. For example, a rise in demand for housing is likely to push up property prices and rents, which makes a living-alone person face rising living costs. Nevertheless, humans are social animals, so they always want to be surrounded by people from the beginning. They may suffer from psychological problems such as homesickness, loneliness, and isolation.

To conclude, many want to live alone and have their individual choice. However, I believe humans should together have alleviated the consequences.