In some countries, many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

In some countries, students are encouraged to enter the company or travel for one year after graduating from high school. After that, they will go to universities. I believe that there are more benefits than drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are some advantages of a gap year. Firstly, having a job is good for students’ further study and career life because students can gain work experience while developing their social skill. For example, some students choose to work in a bank as an internship, and they need to communicate with the costumers which obviously improve their communication skills. Secondly, students can travel to see the wider world and come into contact with diverse cultures. For instance, if students travel to Canada, they can reach some people there and learn about the local culture like the history of the First Nation or people’s eating habits.

On the other hand, some disadvantage can also be found. Firstly, traveling abroad can be very expensive owing to a great number of inevitable expenditures such as air tickets, accommodation fees, and ticket fees. Thereby, it is obvious that not every family can afford such a huge extra fee. Secondly, one of the disadvantages of a student gap year is that it will be tough to go back to school. To illustrate that, if a student start earning money and experiencing a life free of school responsibilities, it can be difficult to regain the discipline needed to be a student.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks of the gape year, I still believe that there are more benefits, such as being good for the future, broadening students’ horizon, etc.