In some countries, the number of people choosing to live by themselves is increasing rapidly in recent years. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

In many countries there are more people who like to live alone due to several reasons, and some effects might be caused by this trend.

Many people like to choose to live alone because of many reasons. First, people want to live alone to be able to do what they want without having to worry about other people, which leads to their private and independent life. For example, young people can listen to loud music without disturbing old people. If individuals live with other people, they might feel uncomfortable. Furthermore, since raising a family involves many responsibilities, many people do not want to get married. This allows them to spend time on developing their career. If they are not single, they would be busy to take care of their family members.

However, this trend has negative impacts on themselves and society. Firstly, due to living alone, there is no one taking care of them. As a result, life would be getting hard and they could feel lonely and isolated. For instance, they would have to buy medicines or go to the hospital by themselves when they are sick. Secondly, because the number of marriages decreases, the birth rate would reduce. This negatively affects future workforce. Finally, since more people want to live alone, the demand for housing rises. This lack of accommodations and house prices would increase.

In conclusion, living alone happens because of some reasons, and it might bring many negative effects on both society and individuals.