In some countries, the number of people who visit art galleries is decreasing. What are the reasons for this? How can we solve this problem?

Art in a country depicts its tradition, culture and heritage. In most developing countries, there is a falling trend in number of art galleries and people who are interested in them. Negligence of governments, lower budgets and decreasing interest among youth are few main reasons for these disappointing numbers. These major issues along with their solutions shall be analyzed in this essay.

As mentioned above, one of the major factors is negligence and lower budgets for arts industry by the governments. This abandonment of arts for providing better basic life facilities is quite clear and understandable among countries with lower GDP. To state this fact it was noted that most developing third world countries like Pakistan spend only less than 1 percent of their total annual budget on arts and entertainment industry. Another factor that affects and accentuates this situation is decreasing interest in arts. That is due to lower salaries and no incentives being provided by arts industry or government as compared to its counterparts science and business industries. A recent study showed almost 50% of artists have to take up another job as well, to make their both ends meet. All this has resulted in lesser art and revenue for art galleries leading to lesser promotion of their events and in turn lesser people showing up for them.

Solutions to above given problems are self explanatory. For the first issue, governments should realize that art and culture are almost equally important for a country as are science and business. Governments should increase budget for arts, entertainment and film industry promoting them to provide quality products that would surely benefit their country and its economy in the longer run. Similarly, the second problem can be curtailed by making laws that make sure that artists get their income as high as scientists, doctors and engineers. This would ensure that students interested in arts do not have to shun their dreams of being artists just for the sake of better earning.

In conclusion, governments' attitude of looking down upon arts along with no proper incentives and benefits for people of this profession have led to downfall of arts and cultural sovereignty of developing countries. Steps should be taken by governments as well as art industries and lovers of art to make sure that art does not eventually die off in their countries.