Nowadays, in many countries people are preffering to live in their own houses rather than in living in rented homes. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend and will outline whether this is a positive or negative development.

Firstly, one of the main reasons for this trend is that, people do not need to worry about the landlords. When people live in their own houses they will need the permission of the landlord to make necessary changes to the house and also they will need to make sure that everything is in it's proper place. To be more precise, if anything happens to the rented house they will have to pay for the damage cause. The house owner will ask them to vacate the house in these cases. But if people live in their own houses they will not have worry about these issues. For example if a TV in a rented house is broken, people will have to pay for it immediately, but in their own houses this is not neccessary.

Secondly, I believe that this is a postive development. When people live in rented accommodation they will have to pay huge amount of money every month as rent, whereas, in owned accommodation this spending this reduce to a great extent. For example, a survey conducted in 2018 found out that, majority of people prefer to live in their own homes due to the low costs. Moreover, people can use this money for other purposes, such as, for the education of children and also for hospital needs.

In conclusion, landlord issues are the main reason compelling people to live in their own houses. I believe that, this is a positive development because the expense can be reduced to a great extent.