In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case. Do you think this is a positive or negative situation.

In this money-driven world, people tend to judge others by their material possessions. Because of that, these last several decades have witnessed a staggering rise in the rate of properties being purchased in lieu of being rented. And from my perspective, there are 2 main reasons that can be attributable to this trend.

To begin with, having a residence allows people to have an independent life. The key rationale is that people can live their life without being at the mercy of the landlord. For example, they have the autonomy of modifying their own house with no fear of violating the renting contract for damaging the walls, thus making it a cozy place in which that they can feel a sense of security and familiarity. Moreover, not only is a house a place to reside, it represents the owner's social status. The size of the house is proportional with people's wealth. Inherently, it acts as an one of the most evident yardsticks of an individual’s success and well-being., The facts outlined above, it is largely justifiable why people in our society place significant importance on possessing a residence.

However, whether owning a house is a positive situation still maintains controversy as it is due to each individual's circumstance. If people fully had financial capability to afford a residence as well as to cover different types of expenditures that come along with it, owning a house would probably be strongly desirable. On the contrary, if some middle class families bought a big house, which is often out of their budget, with a view to meeting the social standard then that house would become a detriment to their financial resource. In order to be eligible to purchase the house, these people will take out huge loans and eventually end up repaying the amount over an enduring period of time when the interest has already increased exponentially. In addition to this, they also have to pay property taxes and insurance, not to mention the maintenance costs and other daily expenses.

In conclusion, although having a house as a personal asset is of great importance, it is not the key determinant to lead a pleasant life. Only when buying a house within a budget is that a sound investment. Otherwise, it could turn into a a drain on a person’s finance when the loan they get is beyond their repaying capacity.