In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

People have different views about owning a home or renting one. Personally, it may be true that owning a home would make our lives having a sense of belonging, but there is some concern we must not overlook.

There are two main causes why I disagree that owning a home is more significant for individuals. Firstly, the house which renting by ourselves also could be our home. In my opinion, the house that I rent can be a special refuge for myself. I can design the room and let it become my ideal look. After my decoration, it also can make me foster the belonging in my home.

Secondly, the practical aspect of the difficulty of buying a house in this day is the high prices of real estate. In the developed country, like Taiwan, people’s salary is much lower than the home loan they should pay every month. If I buy a house in 30 years old, I will need to pay the loan for about 20 to 30 years. In that case, I can’t spend too much money to improve the quality of life, such as traveling around the world, buying some luxuries, or eating more better.

In conclusion, I believe that owning a home is not the major goal for people’s lives. Due to the soaring property prices, home loan could be the biggest pressure of the working class. In order to owning a home, we may have a finance-dependent lives.