In some countries, parents expect children to spend long time studying in and after school and have less free time. Do you think it has positive or negative effects on children and society that they live in?

Recent years, the expenditure that parents invest on children education is larger and larger, they also expect their children to study harder and spend less time on other activities like games or outdoor activities. From my perspective, that has both positive and negative impacts on children growth.

From the perspective of positive effects, spending time on courses really help children in many aspects. Firstly, schools and educational centers are safe and most suitable for children to enhance needed soft skills such as languages, critical, logical and independent thinking, solving-problem skills…. Which is truly essential especially in early stage of children growth when children are lack of self-protection and independent thoughts. If children are not taught about dangers and measures to avoid or call for help from adults, they might get lost and nervous when they face emergencies. Secondly, schools and extra classes are also a great environment to make new friends in same ages. Making new friends is a very first lesson about co-operation and society that children can learn about in a comfortable atmosphere which might help them a lot in future.

Concerning the negative impacts, having more classes also means having less free time which might lead to health issues that children can easily struggle with. Firstly, recent research showed that the shortage of outdoor activities is the cause for increase of eye diseases, obesity and other dangerous diseases in children. There are thousands of Vietnamese children diagnosed to be infectious from shortsightedness and astigmatism each year. Secondly, the lack of free time might have a huge impact on their creativity. Many educational materials have shown that playing among nature is the best way to develop children’s creativity strongly. Whereas most of children must learn indoor with limited spaces and less natural which affects their early mental and physical growth in downsides.

In conclusion, although parents expenditures on education increase progressively, they also need to consider whether it is really crucial and beneficial for their kids or it is apparently to mimic what the other parents did.