Businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, the market is more competitive in comparison with the past, that is the reason why many companies advert their products as the innovation for customers. From my perspective, despite a few differences between advertisement and the real products, it is still an encouraging and positive signal to economy.

In term of customer’s benefit, there are 2 possibilities: the products are the totally new solutions to customers, or they are just advertisements. Firstly, it cannot be denied that enterprises nowadays release a lot of innovation and new solutions each year which help resolve existing issues that people face daily. That is positive since the new technology applied can really changes our lives and improve living standards. In the second possibility if the products are not a real innovation or just another version of an existed product, it also means that manufacturers have discovered new features for existed products. In this case, there is no harm to customers, all they have to do is just taking that product into consideration carefully.

From market perspective, positive impacts overweight opposite side. Firstly, conducted marketing campaigns improve the competition of market. When market become more and more competitive, it requires enterprises a lot of effort to research and develop products to become more attractive for customers than their opponents. It is beneficial for customers to get qualified products with affordable prices. Secondly, thanks to the expenditure of companies on researching and developing products, nation’s technology ability and infrastructure as well as employer’s wages can be enhanced. For instance, Bitis Vietnam, an nation-owning companies has been successful in domestic market after experienced a sharp downward trend in the 2000s due to its innovation and expenditures on developing their products and marketing campaigns.

In conclusion, as long as the companies do not lie customers about their products, their effort to innovate themselves and gain beliefs from customers are appreciated.