In some countries, The proportion of older people will become higher than that of younger people. Is this positive or negative development

In many parts of the world, It is true that the number of older generations will become larger than that of younger generations. While there might be some benefits, I would argue that this trend has far more drawbacks.

On the one hand, this tendency seems beneficial simply because the increasing number of older people could preserve cultural and historical values. For example, elderly people usually keep tradition and customs while young people often adopt a new lifestyle of western societies. As a result, they are likely to ensure identity of their country, which may boost tourism development in the long term.

In spite of the arguments above, I believe that downsides are more significant for the following reasons. Firstly, the higher number of the older generation might cause labor shortage. For instance, many developed countries that tend to have the high proportion of old population are faced with insufficient young labor. Hence, these countries can import foreign workers from poorer countries, and this are likely to create social problems in the long term. Another reason is that the growing number of elderly people could put extreme pressure on healthcare system. To illustrate, elderly people often suffer from more disease, such as heart problems, diabetes, and depression. Thus, they need more medical services, leading the government to build more nursing centers and hire more nurses to look after older people.

In conclusion, although I recognize the possible positive the discussed trend, it seems to me that it is a negative development overall