In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education with a range of subjects. In others, it has a narrow range of specific subjects so students can focus on their future career. What system is more appropriate in today’s world.

Nowadays, there are two kinds of high schools curriculum available for students: the one which provide general education with various subjects and the one which learn more about a particular streams.This leads to a confusion among parents to choose the best pathway for their offspring. Hence, to settle the dispute, a further discussion will be given below.

To begin with, general education during secondary school is good for students in some ways. One of its benefits is that it can let children to decide what they really want. This is to say that they will have more time and opportunities to seek their interest and capability. By this way, students are less likely to choose the wrong majors in university. Needless to say, studying lots of subjects during high school can be good for students to choose their future path.

On the other hand, in the present day, we have lots of new majors which demand us to have practical skills, for instance, computer science and engineering. Due to this, it is better for educational institutions to group children based on their interest. This should be done in order to maximize students’ skills in particular area of studies. Subsequently, it will let them have brighter job opportunities since companies tend to seek for employees which are adept in specific skills, not general. Clearly, pursuing study in a specific subject, individuals will received a better knowledge which leads to higher jobs opportunities.

To conclude, after having some points above, even though general knowledge of diverse subjects can help students to choose their suitable major and career, studying in a specific area of expertise have more benefits. This is due to more skills which will be obtained, making us to be more appealing for employers.