In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which of these two systems is more appropriate in today’s world?

While I accept that the a wide range of subjects could be more beneficial for secondary pupils, I believe that a smart-choice combination of official curriculum might have better effects on the learners’ future.

On the one hand, school might be generally always thought as an essential place to provide students with general knowledge. Therefore, many diverse fields as Mathematics, Science, Literature, and foreign languages are considered to help the young generation be well-prepared for life. Real applications require a great amount of knowledge in various aspects. For examples, to communicate skillfully, one person at least has basic awareness of the outside infomation and politeness, which is usually taught at school.

On the other hand, specific subjects that are wisely-chosen based on particularly personal passions and motivations would be effectively helpful for future preparation. With the development of digital devices and technologies, the dynamic youngster can easily approach the manificantly increasing knowledge of almost every topics. Á a matter of facts, schools and teachers recently in the 21st century would play a more important role in long-term orientation. Mastering some skills that teenagers are passionate about would be less time-consuming to be successful.

In short, more subjects in secondary school can be understood as more chances to find out one’s interests. However, I believe to recognize the students’ real need soon would create more potential success for them. Choosing necessary subjects from secondary would be a wiser choice for not only secondary school but also high school in this developing century.