In some countries, small town-center shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out – of – town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out – of – town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantage?

As a result of urbanization, cities are now surrounded by suburbs, and these areas often feature a large mall or shopping center. The concentration of products in one location make these retail outlets attractive destinations for consumers, who almost with no exception drives to the. Despite the merits of these all-in-one locations, there are some notable demerits that should be considered.

Beginning with the positive aspects, it is striking that a gigantic mall offers various options for buyers. Moreover, the large chain stores that populate these shopping center generally proposes cheaper prices due to economies of scale. A further convenience is that a considerable amount of the population relocates in suburban zones, so these shopping centers are actually closer to people than the traditional stores situated in the central business district.

Nevertheless, there are some undesirable effects of this situation. For one, large stores and malls are operated by monolithic corporations who run small shop owners out of business, while not returning much to the local community. In fact, Walmart, one of the largest mega stores in the US receives a massive amount of government welfare, while locally-owned businesses are forced into bankruptcy and even Walmart employees are paid minimum wage and often rely on government handouts. Not to mention, the almost ubiquitous practice of driving to malls and large chain stores puts a strain on local transport infrastructure, increasing traffic congestion and contributing to air pollution.

In light of these facts, one can conclude that while having everything available in one location is undeniably opportune, the harm to local business is similarly prominent. As the saying goes: “You cannot have your cake and eat it too”, and in this instance, it seems that the benefits of large stores is outweighed by the economic and social harm they cause.