In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many nations over the world, small stores cannot emulate large shops that based on the outskirts, therefore, many of those small businesses have been standing in front of bankrupt. That leads to a number of consequences, including a rise in car usage in these countries and the ability to access to large out-of-town stores for people who have no cars. In my perspective, I believe that this tendency is more harmful than useful.

To begin with, why people like shopping in big shops? I think that the first problem is the price. The expense of renting a space in the city or town centre, especially in huge cities, is very expensive. Thence, many commodities there are sold for more than the actual value of the product. Secondly, due to goods in mini shops not being diverse so residents will be limited in their selection. This causes an uncomfortable feeling and makes shopping becoming a bore.

On the other hand, if dwellers want to approach great stores far from their home, they will have to use means of transport, mostly cars. For that reason, the demand for using automobiles for long-distance travel will increase significantly. Traffic jams will become worse because of the higher number of vehicle on streets. Furthermore, the quantity of pollutions emitted from car engines will grow, which heightens pollution levels in those place and adversely affect human health.

Nevertheless, this trend is not absolutely bad. Shopping in broad areas will be a perfect chance for walking to enhance physical health. Besides, many psychologists show that shopping is one of the most effective ways to reduce stress. In addition, they can add some activities else into their trips, such as camping with their family or friends.

In conclusion, with the reasons aforementioned above, this tendency towards shopping large shops located away from city centres is having many negative impacts. Although it could bring health benefits, I still trust that pros cannot overwhelm cons.