In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many nations, there has been a trend of shopping in big out-of-town stores, which is problematic for small town-center shops and leads to the escalation in car-usages, also people who do not possess these vehicles may find it challenging to access to those large shops. In my opinion, I believe that this phenomenon brings more pros than cons because of the reasons that are going to be mentioned in this essay

On the one hand, moving to stores that are outside the city can help alleviate the traffic congestion in the center as well as offer consumers more choices. When more shops are erected inside a city, they would attract more customers, consequently causing traffic jams and directly deteriorating the atmosphere. Meanwhile, the bigger shops sell more products, thus, this would not only benefit shoppers by giving them a wider range of options but also the whole economy by the revenue these stores make

On the other hand, it is obviously more inconvenient and immobile to travel in a long distance to only purchase a few items, especially for non-car-owners. In some circumstances, people are just looking for only a few things that they have just run out of when going to shops, which can be a big nuisance if they have to transport through hundreds of miles to reach the stores. In addition, it is almost impossible to get to the out-of-town stores without a vehicle, as a result, this can lead to a growth in cars sold as people who do not own a car have to face with more shortcomings when it comes to shopping

To conclude, although both positivity and negativity can be found in the preference of surburb shops. I strongly believe that its advantages can absolutely outshadow its drawbacks as it helps ease the traffic congestion in the city center and also develops the national economy