Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry.

Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, many people who want to get into a museum or an art exhibition are required to pay the entrance fee, which is not the same for every museum in the world.

Although the act of charging visitors to these areas contains both positivity and negativity, I suppose that the drawbacks can overperform the benefits since it deters many people from broadening their horizons

On the one hand, admission charge is a great way to help museums or art galleries to improve their services and maintain their facilities as well as avoid being too crowded. In detail, these locations often have to spend most of their budget on a myriad of charges such as electricity, water or tax along with the annual fees for upgrading or remaining their amenities' qualities. Therefore, if they do not charge people, they will not have enough money to sustain their operations. Moreover, people often show strong preferences towards free goods or services that they even may not need. As a result, since museums are free to enter they are flocked by mass tourisms and local residents, which can cause devastating consequences

On the other hand, letting people come to museums or art exhibitions without any charges can bring a much greater deal of shortcomings involving in inequality and conflicts between different classes in society. These places are established prominently for education and give more opportunities for people to acquire deeper insights into a greater scale of knowledge. Also, requiring payment for admission also deter low-class people and arouse their frustration as they do not afford to go into these areas. Therefore, this activity expands the distance between rich and poor people as well as fails to educate people as their initial purpose. For example, although everyone knows that museums can enhance their insights into the world, they may feel hesitate to come when they have to pay money to get into these places since it is obviously not as necessary as spending money on food or accommodation

To conclude, although selling tickets can help many museums and art galleries to improve their services as well as facilities, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages since it raise the inequality between people in different classes and takes away the chances of learning new things of many people