In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many nations, small town-center stores are facing bankruptcy since customers are favoring large out-of-town shops. This might lead to an increase in the usage of automobiles , as people who do not own a car must find ways to travel. In my opinion, these trends bring more drawbacks than benefits.

On the one hand, there are two advantages of these developments. First, the preference of customers for out-of-town shops encourages economic growth in rural areas. Indeed, many malls anđ shopping outlets have been constructed in small towns across the U.S, and therefore have created millions of job opportunities for local people in these towns. In addition, an increase in the use of cars helps to strengthens national economy. For example, a new Vietnamese car company named Vìnfast has recorded impressive sales since 2018 thanks to the rising demand from customers, which not only benefits the GDP of Vietnam but also promotes local brands.

Beneficial as it is, this trenđđcauses several problems. To begin with, when there are more cars on the streets, more emissions are released into the atmosphere . For instance, the rate of pollution in Hanoi has recently reached an alarming level, and one of the main contributors is the increasing amount of exhaust fumes from automobiles, making people more vulnerable to health issues, such as lung cancer . Additionally, many town-centre shops going out of business will lead to a massive job loss. People who lose their jobs will struggle to cover the costs of living in the city, and therefore likely to suffer from mental issues like depression.

In conclusion, although I agree that an increase in the use of cars and customers’ preference for out-of-town stores are advantageous to a certain extent, I believe these developments do more harm than good for the above arguments