Some people believe that women should be equally treated with men in terms of recruitment in the police or the Army. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate, and give a concluding view.

On the one hand, those who support the gender equality in the armed force cite the benefits that this can bring to the both authorities and female employees. This means that the decision allows women to enter traditionally male roles, which expands the pool of people available to these jobs. As a result, not only women would be clearly more motivated and enthusiastic about the competition, but also admission officers could be given the opportunity to opt for prime workers for the organization’s benefit. Another argument is the financial advantages that women and their families can gain. By this we mean that these equal rights can lead to more female workers entering into workforce generally, thus increasing the families’ income, and eventually enhancing the living standards of other family members concerned.

By contrast, opponents of this view point out that the sex quota is not advisable or even possible in the police or the Army. They highlight the evidence from countries such as Mexico, where the majority of female police officers fail to enforce law fully. In these cases the officers appear to make exceptions for female or young criminals, due to emotional reasons. Furthermore, those who oppose female recruitment in the armed force insist that physical weakness of women makes them unable to serve as productively as their male peers do, resulting in disruption or even fail of missions. Examples can be seen during Afghanistan War, where this appears to be the case. Finally, it must be said that a substantial proportion of women are reluctant to do such jobs, because their interests lie elsewhere, making their hiring impossible.

Overall, I tend to side with opponents of these quotas. It is inadvisable and impossible to involve women in such emotionally and physically demanding roles, where they might fail to fit the job descriptions.