These days the tradition of families eating meals together is declining. Why is this happening? What are the effects on families?

It is true that the culture of the family meal has almost been forgotten in recent years. There are several reasons for this trend, and it can have a range of long-term negative impacts on junior family members.

There are two main reasons why families tend not to eat together these days. Firstly, parents, nowadays, have to work to tight schedules or do shiftwork to make a living. Because of these inevitable anti-social timetables, the parents usually lack the time to attend family meals. Children, at the same time, spend sizable chunks of their time on their own. They stick in their rooms enjoying video games or chatting to their friends online. These young people, therefore, would rather consume their food solely.

As people less frequently seat at the ‘family table’, the socialization function of families would certainly be affected. The most obvious consequence of this trend is that parents would not have enough face-to-face interaction with their children. They will lose the opportunity to adequately know their offspring, their feelings or needs through the table talk, and to find out how to discipline them properly. Consequently, their children are less likely to be respectful and well-behaved. They will grow up with several negative personality traits. These young people, for instance, are likely to become self-centred adults who show little consideration for the feelings or needs of others. Such an attitude would make them unable to work successfully in groups with other colleagues. Another negative trait in such people could be impulsiveness which may lead, for example, to wrong financial decisions, or even criminal activity.

In conclusion, various factors contribute to disappearing of the family meal custom, and younger members of the family will undoubtedly be influenced by the issue.