Many people say that apply heavy taxes to industries will prevent pollution. Others believe that there are other effective solutions to curb the industrial pollution. . Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Most people agree that the industry-caused contamination should be reduced to some extent. However, imposing higher taxes on companies is a controversial tactic, due to possible alternatives. This essay will discuss the debate, and give a concluding view.

On the one hand, those who support higher taxation of industry promote the idea that this measure will lead to lower energy consumption, and thus lower emissions. They point to evidence from countries such as Sweden where this appears to be the case, and urge other nations to follow suit. Another argument is that high taxes may lead to companies, modifying their manufacturing process in order to become more efficient, eventually resulting in lower amount of waste produced.

By contrast, opponents of this view are able to cite evidence from other countries( including Italy and France) where high taxes has apparently not reduced industry- related pollution. In these case, the effect has been to face majority of companies with financial crisis, resulting in downsize or even closure in some cases. The first solution that critics propose instead is changing energy sources used by companies. By this they mean that it would be for governments to create renewable energies by funding, for example, solar or biofuel reactors, and then encouraging industrial consumers to use through tax incentives. One other suggested step is the development of controlled landfills and waste processing facilities, so that the industrial waste might be treated more effectively regardless of the amount dumped.

Overall, I tend to side with those who oppose heavy tax burden towards the industries to lessen the pollution induced by them. It appears that the government’s intervention to serve alternative sources of energy and improved waste treatment amenities for companies well ameliorate the situation.