In some countries, students pay their college or university fees, while in some others, the government pay for them. Do you think the advantages that government pays the money outweigh the disadvantages?

Since education places an essential part in the development of a country, there are many debatable arguments related to whether the fees for tertiary education should be paid by the government or individuals have been lit. In my opinion, I believe that the benefits of delivering free access to education for every citizen overshadow the drawbacks.

It is true that fully paying for college or university fees will lead to shortages of resources, which could be spent on developing infrastructures or investing in industries. As a result, governments are unlikely to have money to expand the domestic economy when it comes to globalization. However, this drawback can be easily compensated by international investments attracted by well-educated labor forces, since the majority of citizens and get access to tertiary education. Therefore, the government can earn extra resources to spend on other essential aspects. For example, Finland where university and college are free for citizens, it has become an investing hub for every start-up company and an ideal country for students from around the world come to study. These are the major incomes for the local government.

Moreover, this movement enhances equality in society. By offering all citizens chances to study in tertiary systems, getting high education is no longer a privilege of the upper classes. Therefore, this helps to reduce the gaps among social classes, which helps to avoid unrest among society. For instance, Finland has been the country, which has the highest happiness degree of citizens, as a result, there is no crisis for years. Besides, higher education levels among citizens can result in lower crime rates. Because most people get proper degrees and certificates, they are likely to get well-paid jobs. As a result, it not only solves unemployment but also leads to the fact that citizens will not involve in illegal activities for livelihoods.

In conclusion, governments should pay for university fees. By doing this, a country can get more advantages than disadvantages.