Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As there are increasing numbers of traffic accidents, this leads to many debatable arguments related to whether governments should impose policies to set the lowest age allowed to drive higher or not. In my opinion, I advocate the perspective that limits the range of legal driving ages.

Firstly, driving indeed is an action that can affect directly the safety of the society, therefore, it necessitates to have a great responsibility to drive. Therefore, driving demands drivers to be mature enough to handle themselves, unless it would cause more accidents on the roads. Furthermore, drivers must be in ages that can be legally responsible for their actions, so that they would be punished accordingly to the laws. Because of that, they would pay more attention and awareness when taking part in traffic. As a result, road accidents can reduce, which also increases the safety of society. For instance, in several European countries, since the lawmakers compelled drivers to be older than 20 years old to have driving licenses in 2010, the annual reports of car accidents improved significantly.

Secondly, by limiting the legal driving ages, governments can also reduce the number of transportations running inroads. By having fewer vehicles on roads, drivers not only can avoid traffic jams in rush hours but also can avoid car collisions in high roads. Therefore, they will feel safe when driving on the streets. Moreover, because of the decrease in transportations, traffic infrastructures such as roads, bridges could function well. Consequently, it increases the local road safety and reduces the costs of road maintenance. For example, Singapore is the country that spent the least resources on fixing traffic facilities and controlling traffic regardless of the dense population density, due to the rule to limit the ages allowed to drive.

In conclusion, increasing the minimum legal age for driving vehicles is a feasible measure to improve road safety because it helps to reduce cars and having mature drivers.