Nowadays, films are no longer made by big companies only. Digital technology enables everybody to produce films.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

As the developments in the film industry have facilitated many small companies to produce films; this field was no longer dominated by big corporations. In my perspective, I do believe that this phenomenon could be beneficial for the film industries as well as the audiences.

Firstly, it is true that the increase in the number of film producer companies means more creative content could be introduced to the public. To be more specific, because of the shortage of technologies and financial resources, many ideas can not be implemented in films by small organizations. As a result, it leads to the limitation in types of movies and contents, which deteriorates the creativity in this seventh art. However, thanks to the developments in digital technologies, which help to reduce costs in making films, this not only gives chances for small organizations to produce films by themselves but also allows more directors to relisticize new ideas. This results in many blockbusters and unprecedented masterpieces; therefore, it will attract more people to go to theaters, earning more profits. According to a survey conducted in 2010, after having visual software to edit videos with ease, there was a surge in the profits of several theaters, because of the appearances of new companies in the film industry.

Secondly, audiences could enjoy more quality movies and have a variety of selections of films from many producers instead of only two or three options. To explain that, because there are only a few companies making films, people are likely to watch similar content in several movies. This would easily get them bored; therefore, they can not fully unwind after hard-working hours. But, this scenario would not happen if audiences could have numerous film production companies, which could generate breakthrough ideas. As a result, more films are available for audiences to watch whatever types of movies they want. In a survey made by CNN, the satisfaction of people watching movies increased dramatically since Netflix and Amazon, two of the biggest streaming movies platforms nowadays, were introduced in 2013.

In conclusion, having more businesses taking part in the film industry, because it brings benefits to both the audience and this seventh art.