Children’s education always comes first for all the parents. While when most parents are getting stuck in which school will be a better choice for their children, it is reported that in some countries, some parents think it is best to teach their children at home on their own instead of enrolling them in school. From my perspective, parental homeschooling has far more drawbacks than its benefits.

It is not deniable that there are reasonable reasons underlying the presence of home education. The most terrible one is that bullying and harassment have become seriously phenomenon in many schools, causing considerable adverse impacts on students such as depression and anxiety. This to some extent pushes parents to keep their children at home to protect them from both mental and physical problems. Additionally, children who have lessons at home get full attention from their parents, which allows parents to know well about their children to be able to detect weakness and strengths of children’s. As a result, home-educated children might excel in study and achieve greater academic results.

However, I stand by that school plays an irreplaceably vital part in education area. First and foremost, school education is operating based on profession and authority, offering all-round developing curriculums for students. Besides, which can students obtain at school is not only basic knowledge but also soft skills such as team building and communication. In the perspective of sociology, school is a place as well as a small society where students interact with each other, make friends and build social networks. In other words, school life contributes experience and guidance for students in later social life. Furthermore, it is proven that those who possess both social skills and academic knowledge is more likely to be successful than those only master theories and notions.

In conclusion, despite the fact that home education has its own merits, I think its disadvantage still outweigh than the advantages.