Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this.

Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favour.

Due to a great deal of research, everybody knows the consequences of smoking. However, legislating to restrict tobacco use in public places continues to be a controversial topic in today's world. There are valid arguments on both sides, which will be discussed now.

On the one hand, those who support smoking bans refer to the health risks of second-hand smoke. This is because passive exposure, whether low levels or high levels, to tobacco smoke can be harmful to the heart of non-smokers. For example, recently published research conducted in the United States has shown a 20% increase in coronary diseases and cardiovascular death in people who are exposed to tobacco smoke. Furthermore, proponents of smoke-free laws are able to cite evidence from countries, including Spain and Swiss, where anti-smoking law leads to a 5% reduction in the prevalence of smoking which in turn reduces healthcare costs. Therefore, supporters believe that the more restrictive the law, the greater its impact.

By contrast, opponents of smoke-free laws highlight its negative impact on business, particularly restaurants, bars, and cafes. This is because smokers are more likely to avoid going to such areas and this leads business owners to experience a considerable reduction of their customers as well as profits. Moreover, those who oppose anti-smoking law claim that it can be a violation in one's personal liberty, since individuals have autonomy to decide on what kind of lifestyle they will have and then legislating such laws can be against a personal choice.

To conclude, I would tend to side with the supporters of smoke-free laws. It seems to be unreasonable to force non-smokers to exposure to tobacco smoke of smokers under the pretext of believing in freedom and reduced income. It would be more logical to designating smoking and non-smoking areas at each public place such as restaurants and bars. By doing so, both groups of society members can be done justice.