Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this.

Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach you own conclusion on which side you favor.

It would seem that these days smoking cigarettes in social spaces is banned in numerous countries, whereas this regulation has not been enforced fully in other nations. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss now.

On the one hand, supporters of forbidding smoking tobacco publicly claim that there are many vulnerable non-smokers such as women and children in working places or cafes, and these people’s health may suffer significantly if they inhale certain amount of smoke from cigarettes. Such laws, in fact, might reduce the realistic possibility of this situation, thus preventing such people from passive smoking. Furthermore, proponents of enacting a law against smoking point to evidence from Bangkok, Thailand where citizens or tourists who flout this law are punished heavily. This may potentially protect the atmosphere at these places, thus deterring numerous people from being exposed to second hand smoke.

On the other hand, opponents of banning smoking in public buildings insist that some jobs require a lot of employees’ attention which could be gained by smoking cigarettes. It is notable, for example, that DJs who usually work under high pressure in night clubs tend to smoke cigarettes in order to keep focused. Moreover, those who oppose regulations on smoking say that it is a widely-observed fact that smoking chambers in public buildings are increasingly common. This might allow people to smoke without having severe effects on others’ health and well-being.

In conclusion, I would tend to side with proponents of banning smokers in social spaces, as it seems logical to put more effort into protecting the public health and lowering the risk of being second hand smokers.