A gap year in some countries to work or travel is a decision for young people who have been completed the high school program. This essay will submit that getting real experience is the foremost advantage of this and a reduced motivation to study is the main disadvantage.

Teenagers could perceive valuable experiences which they did not study at school and enhance their soft skills. In addition, travelling also helps them to explore new cultures as well as exclusive architectures which do not exist in their country. For instance, I have visited Korea for two months and I had a chance to see that Korean life and culture are different from Vietnam, so I have learnt a lot of things from that trip.

On the other hand, there are undoubted disadvantages. There are certain dangers in taking time off at that essential age. Youngsters may end up and never return to their studies and find it difficult to re-adapt to an academic environment. They may think that it is better to continue in a particular job. For example, a recent survey by British Government found that 26% of students who take a gap year enter tertiary education.

In summary, taking a year from studies can be advantageous for who want to go around the world to get more knowledge and experiences. However, it can be uneasy to re-adapt university environment.