There are many ways to be successful in occupation. Some students think that they should pursuit their education at university or college for a good future job, whilst getting a job straight after school is more effective option for some. I find the former more convincing for some reasons. Both views will be discussed in this essay and my opinion will be clarified as well.

It is clear that attending university is beneficial for students. Inevitably, high school students are not mature enough to get a job in today’s competitive working world. They haven’t experienced a lot, so they lack working experience as well as many essential skills required by employers. At university, students are provided with not only theory but also practice courses. Therefore, they can have in-depth knowledge about their career and gain their working skills through classroom activities like doing presentations, group work, discussing, doing projects, doing surveys, and communicating with others. Also, students can get used to working environment and enrich their experience by having internships, which perfects their curriculum vitae. All these things help students more easily get and do their future jobs.

On the other hand, getting a job right away after high school has its benefits. To be more specific, students can shorten their path to success by not wasting four years at university. They can take use of that time period to do many things or jobs they like, and get valuable experience from real working environment. However, they may have many difficulties when they experience the job themselves at that young age without any help from a university or college. It seems they lose more than get. In fact, they spend hard time full of ups and downs before they reach their goal. In addition, the options to choose jobs is fewer for those who don’t have academic qualifications because many jobs require relevant degrees like doctors, professors, teachers, lawyers, police officers, etc.

In conclusion, every different person has different way to succeed but I do believe that everyone should continue to study after school to prepare well for upcoming jobs and reduce difficulties on the way to success.