in some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies . Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

People usually think that kids should go to university right after finishing high school, but some children are encouraged to being contrary. In other words, instead of pursuing higher education, they will travel or work for a year before continue to study. In my opinion, there are both merits and demerits of taking a gap year and we’ll figure it out.

To start with, we will talk about the advantages. Firstly, some kids may don’t know what major they want to learn at university, or if they want to go find a job. This year may help them to figure out what is most suitable for them. Secondly, that one-year should probably be a once in a lifetime experiences. You have your chance to travel, to learn a lot of interest things from the real world, while many of your friends still busy with making acquaintance with new school, assignments,... In this year, you can achieve lots of experience, social skills and the ability to be independent. Besides, you’ll meet lots of people, make new friends, and have tons of stories to tell. You can also earn money from your work, which is a great preparation to your next move. Through this year, you’ll do almost everything on your own, you’ll stand on your own feet. And that what make you become mature.

However, there’re still some disadvantages. The most tough thing for almost everyone who choose this path is they’ll be a year behind. Some may feel like they are worse than their contemporaries. For this reason, it’s easier to fell under pressure or fall into some bad habits. Another obstacle is you’ll be homesick. Obviously, you will miss your family and friends so much when you are far away from them. Travelling not just cause homesick, it also may contain some risks. You will not know what is waiting for you with that adventure, or if it good or bad. Furthermore, it can be waste of time, or money. Not all trip will give you what you need in your life. And after this year, it may get bored when you come back to school.

This decision has always been a matter of debate and we still can’t tell if it right or wrong to do it. After all, this is your decision. It’s up to you to consider what is the mmost suitable for you.