In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universities studies.

In certain countries, it is preferred that students should take a year off from studies after completing high school, prior to joining universities and during this period they are encouraged to work or to travel. Even though this seems to be a noble concept, it has its own merits and demerits and some of these will be illustrated in this essay.

Firstly, a year off, after completing years of continuous school education is a welcome break for students and is well deserved too. This period also serves as well earned family time for those pupils who grew up within the closed boundaries of boarding schools. Secondly, this period provides ample opportunities to young people, to experience the realities of the modern world. Those students who prefer a break, can experiment with various forms of employment and thereby decide their career goals and directions depending upon their experiences. The holidaymakers, on the other hand can familiarise with the customs and cultures of various countries, which in turn will widen their outlook and will also promote cultural tolerance. Thus, in a wider perspective, such breaks help the young minds in preparing for the much demanding university life.

In contrast, certain disadvantages are definitely associated with this concept and are worth mentioning. Firstly, scholars are of the opinion that, such breaks from studies, during the learning phase of life, affects further education. According to them, such activities should not be encouraged as there are higher chances that the young minds might lose interest in learning or may get unmotivated due to various reasons and might ultimately refrain from pursuing university education. Secondly, the employed youth, due to a sudden increase in their purchasing power, might also get attracted to various social evils like drugs, gambling and alcoholism.

Thus to sum up, it will be wise to comment that such policies even though are noble practices, should not be made mandatory in a national scale, as these activities are also associated with considerable negative outcome.