In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Some nations urge youngsters to spend the year between graduating from high school and beginning their university studies working or traveling. This trend would create certain benefits but there will also be some drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is clear that young people who decide to take a year out from school before beginning their university studies to work or travel would bring about several advantages for them. One evident strength is that it would help relieve our stress and take a break from our routine. It could be explained by the fact that life is a journey, not a destination. For example, going to a new land can expand your knowledge and let you have real-life experience. Another advantage is working in a gap year can help you develop expertise in your major. Take work part-time as an example, you can build social skills and have a chance to save money for rainy day in your life. Despite surfing the Internet, why don’t you get a basic job and feel a sense of accomplishment?

On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. First, too engrossed in discovery. It means that you don’t have time to study extracurriculars to prepare for college. As a result, you will feel peer pressure. Second, it will affect your health if you work too much. In particular, you may take the risk of money and have to stay up late and suffer sleep deprivation. Consequently, dangerous diseases gradually appear and destroy your health.

In conclusion, there are negative points to youngsters who spend the gap year working or traveling regarding students’ health and learning, the upside would emerge consequently in terms of expanding knowledge and developing skills.