Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that raising the minimum legal age at which individuals can legally operate cars or ride motorbikes is the best strategy in order to increase road safety. To a certain extent, while I agree that this policy may decrease the number of traffic accidents, I believe that harsher punishments are more significant because of their considerable effects.

On the one hand, it is clear that a higher minimum lawful age will improve the safety of traffic participants. Reality proves that most accidents when driving are caused by youngsters due to their subjectivity, speeding, and recklessness. For example, many injuries were caused because underage drivers drank and raced too fast in the crowd. However, they don’t yet have the maturity so do not have to take responsibility before the law when engaging in dangerous behaviors. Thus, in order to safeguard themselves and other road users, raising the legal driving age may ensure that even the youngest drivers are responsible enough to do so.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that stricter rules should be banned because nowadays, young people still drive cars and ride motorbikes without a driver's license, so the above strategy may not be effective enough. Therefore, increasing the severity of the penalties for those found guilty of driving offenses may be the better way to tighten traffic safety. Let me take Vietnam as an example, a person convicted of driving while under the fluence of alcohol in Vietnam has to pay 7 million VND and revoked the license. Consequently, the number of traffic accidents is decreased significantly.

To conclude, while I support the view that increasing the minimum legal age for road users is a great way to keep safe, I believe that stricter rules far outweigh that strategy.