In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

There is a common trend that graduated academic learners gravitate towards taking a gap year before attending tertiary education. This essay will outline the benefits as well as the drawbacks of the issue.

On the one hand, students will reap the substantial benefits of a gap year. They will retrieve back the precious time, which was spent for distressingly long hours of studies, to share with their beloved ones, and for themselves. This also creates an opportune occasion to convey gratitude to parents, and teachers, who have been very supportive during their children’s rough times. For some, It’s the perfect time to step back and deliberate on their journey and the path they’ve chosen to walk shortly. Furthermore, taking a gap year offers students a golden opportunity to learn essential practical experiences outside the school’s premises. Many vital soft skills such as communication, teamwork, and collaboration play a pivotal part in an individual’s development. For example, many big corporations nowadays will take notice of their candidates’ social experiences or contributions, to see if they are competent enough for the position.

On the other hand, drawbacks are inevitable. While a student intends to take a gap year, other students may far excel at school and even quickly land a decent job. This circumstance could result in overstudying to keep pace with other undergraduates, exhaustion, or depression, thus deteriorating individuals’ well-being with the ripple effect. Moreover, several young adults may show apathy for their studies afterward, maybe due to the lucrative salary from part-time jobs, or even be derailed from the right track and involved in harmful activities. As a result, many parents are highly concerned about the alarming problem and rush their children into quickly enrolling in a university or college.

All considered, taking a gap year before pursuing further education has its merits together with demerits. Students need to wisely reconsider their decision before concluding.